All the Sun For You

A mom, two boys, a husband, and a whole lot of adventure!

Resolution

21 Comments

We had our ultrasound today at 1:00.  It was originally scheduled for 8:00 AM, but the clinic called yesterday to reschedule due to a monster snow storm that was expected overnight.  Said snow storm was minor (oh so minor) but the timing worked out well for us and I liked being able to get up this morning to move at my own pace (slow!) and have both breakfast and lunch with my boys.

I woke up feeling good about this scan.  I just figured that we would be told it was nothing, and the worst case scenario would be that we’d have something to fix once Wilson was born.  My head wasn’t clouded much this morning and I reminded myself that of all the people in the waiting room, I would likely be the one with the least amount to worry about.

The ultrasound was great – the gal was very gentle and the machine was amazing.  We have never seen such clear pictures in-utero.  I knew what they were looking for, so I was relaxed until they got to his stomach.  And… it’s gone.  Whatever they saw last week is not there.  The tech thought that maybe his gallbladder was in the way last time, at a strange angle, and appeared attached to the stomach.  But, as she said, that’s just speculation on her part since she couldn’t see anything abnormal.

This is going to sound weird, but we enjoyed this ultrasound.  The tech was the age of our mothers, and very gentle and caring.  She described every last thing she was doing and looking at, something that no one has done for us before.  I just felt like there were no secrets at all, and I felt so comfortable that when she got to his stomach, I asked if she could see the “thing.”  I knew she may tell me that she couldn’t answer that, but I thought she was the type to share what she was seeing.  And she did.  She saw nothing.  When she got to Wilson’s head, she tried really hard to get a 3-D photo and she did!  She told us how cute he is.  How nice is that?

The perinatologist (Dr. W) came in shortly after and we immediately could see why Dr. H wanted us to see this guy in particular.  He was so kind, so wonderful, so calm.  He scanned me again and saw nothing as well.  He did say that Wilson’s gallbladder is a bit large, but that that’s perfectly fine.  Everything else looked great and Dr. W said that there was nothing else to do or worry about.  I don’t even need to worry about this changing our birth plan for Wilson – there is no follow-up needed.  Dr. W finished by telling us how great and clear the images were because of the machinery and because, “you’re thin.”

I will always hold a special place in my heart for Dr. W!

So – that’s it.  Nine days later, all is well.  All is resolved.  All is just fine!

Author: Courtney

Hi, there, I’m Courtney. I never planned to stay home with my kids, but I got sucked into motherhood when my first baby came into our lives after years of infertility and multiple rounds of IVF. His brother followed closely behind, something we didn’t plan on after having such a rough road with achieving parenthood the first time around. My boys are IVF cycle twins, conceived on the same day but born two years and one day apart (they were both transferred on the same day in October, but with two years between them). My boys are the best of friends and my husband is a terrific husband, father, and most importantly… friend. He fully supported my desire to stay home (“I just wanted it to be your idea and not mine, I totally want you to stay home and raise our kids!”) and encourages me in everything I do. I am a lover of projects, spreadsheets, fitness, healthy cooking and eating, crafts, selling my stuff on FB (HA!), and the outdoors. If I’m active, I’m pretty darn happy!

21 thoughts on “Resolution

  1. Pingback: The Last 9 Days « All the Sun For You

  2. Really so glad everything worked itself out and all is well! 🙂

  3. LOL, you ARE thin! SO happy that all is well with Wilson.

    • Ha ha! Well thank you, but no – I’m really not. I used to be, but I got a bit out of shape before this pregnancy!

      Thanks! I’m glad things are going well too – Finally!

  4. So happy things turned out ok!

  5. Oh Courtney, I am so so happy to hear that everything went well at the scan today! That is such awesome news. I can’t imagine how tough this week was for you and it makes me sad to read those posts and hear what it was like to be there through this time of not knowing and worrying. So relieved to know that Wilson is going to be just fine!! 🙂

  6. Oh Courtney, was a terrifying situation. And what what a hellish week of uncertainty to denture. I’m so impressed by the grace with which you got through those days. I’m so sorry you went through that but am so happy it’s all over and everything is fine. I hope you can enjoy a relaxing day now, to decompress from all of that

    Abiding with you.

  7. You’re thin – I know it’s bad but I love it!!

    So what was it they saw – bad ultrasound imaging? I’m so relieved that “Wilson” is ok!

    • You’re sweet, but no I am not!

      I don’t know what they saw. There was speculation that it was another organ at a bad angle, but that doesn’t explain why they saw no blood flow to “the thing.” So I have no idea, and neither do they.

  8. Such a relief! I can only imagine how scared you were! So glad to hear that Wilson is healthy and doing well.

    I had all my ultrasounds after 9 weeks done at a high risk OBs office – their ultrasound machines are amazing. And I had the same experience with the tech telling me everything she was looking at. Made the ultrasounds even better.

    • I sure enjoyed the high risk OB scan more than any in my past (except the elective, fun ones where you just go to see cuteness!). I wonder if the techs offer up more information because they KNOW that we KNOW we’re there for something specific. I don’t know, but she sure was nice!

  9. SO much relief hearing this news yesterday. Big hugs to you guys. Be good Wilson!

  10. Big hugs to you. From your description it sounds as though you handled yourself with much grace during a very very difficult time. I couldn’t be happier to hear this story took a very relieving turn. So… Is Wilson “Wilson” for certain now???? 😉

    • Thank you – me too! And no – Wilson is not for certain yet. B thinks we’ll end up settling on it soon, but he’s not ready yet. I like “Cayman” just as much, but he’s not sure of it. SO – I wait. We all wait… for B to land on a name! 😉

Leave a comment