All the Sun For You

A mom, two boys, a husband, and a whole lot of adventure!

Leap of Faith

28 Comments

I took a leap of faith the day before my first beta.

I thought about the fact that I’d be wearing the exact same maternity clothes as I did with Matthew since I’d be due the same day, so I inventoried in my mind what I would need.  I would need short-sleeved t-shirts.  It’s fall right now – surely G.ap Maternity would have those types of shirts on a steep discount, right?  (This is how I talk to myself in my head to justify shopping.)

I wondered if I could jinx things by going to check out their sales, or if I should wait.

I decided that was ridiculous – you can’t jinx a pregnancy.

I went.  I bought 3 long-sleeved shirts and 3 short-sleeved ones (for $7-$9 each!).

And I bought these:

No – not for twins – don’t get ahead of yourselves!

I mean – they were $6 each – what was I supposed to do?  I thought about how holiday-specific they were and that if this pregnancy was a bust, that these would be a completely useless purchase.  I then figured, if this pregnancy is a bust, I’ll just mail them on over to Belle!

I got my second beta today and it doubled in 39.5 hours.  We are looking good so far and I’m eerily calm about this pregnancy.  My ultrasound is scheduled within the next few weeks.

I should take leaps of faith more often.

Author: Courtney

Hi, there, I’m Courtney. I never planned to stay home with my kids, but I got sucked into motherhood when my first baby came into our lives after years of infertility and multiple rounds of IVF. His brother followed closely behind, something we didn’t plan on after having such a rough road with achieving parenthood the first time around. My boys are IVF cycle twins, conceived on the same day but born two years and one day apart (they were both transferred on the same day in October, but with two years between them). My boys are the best of friends and my husband is a terrific husband, father, and most importantly… friend. He fully supported my desire to stay home (“I just wanted it to be your idea and not mine, I totally want you to stay home and raise our kids!”) and encourages me in everything I do. I am a lover of projects, spreadsheets, fitness, healthy cooking and eating, crafts, selling my stuff on FB (HA!), and the outdoors. If I’m active, I’m pretty darn happy!

28 thoughts on “Leap of Faith

  1. You are getting me so excited to follow along with your baby #2 journey!! I am horrible about thinking you can jinx a pregnancy. I don’t know why I’m like that. I need to take some pointers from you obviously. Super cute outfits, and as much as I’m sure Belle would have appreciated the gift, I’m really glad you get to keep them for yourself! Good job little baby, way to produce some good numbers for your mama!! Or maybe you get all the credit mama….we’ll give it to both of you!

  2. I love leaps of faith! I’m so glad you are feeling secure. You are good inspiration to me who yesterday felt so zen and today feels so… um… constipated. I allowed myself to flip through the first few pages of the Land of Nod catalog that comes to our house. It was a bold move for me! (SAdly, I receive lots of baby things in the mail thanks to online shopping for other people’s baby showers! )

    • I am so proud of you!!!!! You keep flipping through those catalogues, Belle, because you’re going to need them sooner than later! It’s never too early to plan – and it’s never too early to ENJOY!!!!

  3. I took the same leap of faith & now have a box of maternity clothes waiting to be returned….I feel like an ass…but it was a really great sale…oh well. I’m glad your leap worked out! Hoping things continue to progress in a positive manner!!

  4. YAY for doubling! And for leaps of faith! So exciting. Also, I meant to say it on an earlier post, but I was too slow. My mom has a brother who was born on her birthday, and she LOVES it. As a child she was told that he was her birthday present. LOL. So she’s always had a bit of a soft spot for him. Even today, they’re in their 70’s and she still calls him her birthday present, it’s cute and sweet. I know it’s not often thought of as ideal, but it can be made into something really positive for both kids depending on how you handle it. Anyway, just for what it’s worth. 🙂

    • I appreciate this perspective so much! Honestly, had my mom had my little sister on my birthday (she was due 5 days before my b-day but my sister arrived 5 weeks early) – I would have been thrilled! I still call her the best present I ever got 😉 I just worry about boys and how they take those things. But I’m making something out of nothing.

      My dad asked me today to schedule the c-section for Matthew’s birthday because “that would be fun!” That will not be happening!

      Thank you for this 🙂

  5. I don’t know why and this is going to sound strange, but this post made me kind of teary and once again excited about the possibility of this pregnancy working out. Good for you and those onsies are adorable.

  6. What a fun leap of faith to take! Love the onesies. 🙂

  7. You’re right, you can’t jinx a pregnancy. I think it’s awesome you got some stuff good for you!

  8. Way to take a leap of faith! 🙂 No, you can’t jinx a pregnancy so I say go for it. It paid off and they are adorable little onesies! Hoping everything continues to go well!

  9. “You can’t jinx a pregnancy” – I seriously could not get myself to believe this with my last pregnant, but it’s true! Love the cute outfits, and yay for great deals on maternity shirts!

  10. What a fabulous leap of faith! I love it! And I’m so happy that all is going well for you!!!

    Thanks so much for checking on me today – you’re so sweet. I had a very good day today! 🙂

  11. LOVE this post. You absolutely cannot jinx this and I so want you to enjoy it from these very early days.

    I love the little spider sleep-n-play! Did you kind of freak out a bit when you saw how tiny they were? I think I totally would!

    • Um yes. I had a hard time believing that 3-6 months was the right size because it looked so small! I thought the baby would be huge by then… but it won’t be. So strange.

  12. I am a firm believe in positive feelings about pregnancy actually meaning something. Your body knows. I’m so glad you’re feeling confident!

  13. Cute stuff you got! Glad you are getting nothing but good news!

  14. hooray for a beautifully doubling beta!

  15. Hooray for rising betas!
    Hooray for sweet baby outfits!
    Hooray for faith! ❤

  16. Pingback: The Monday Snapshot – Hope | All the Sun For You

Leave a comment